• 98140-03681, 9814003652, 0181-4692000 (Extensions 30-52)

23 Feb

St. Soldier Law College organized the 2-day 6 th R.C. Chopra Memorial National Moot Court Competition, wherein 44 teams form 18 States and two UTs of Delhi and Chandigarh participated. Each team consists of 2 mooters and one researcher. The competition on service law was inaugurated by Sh. N.K. Arora Former Chief Secretary Punjab. Sh. Anil Chopra Chairman and Mr. Prince Chopra Pro- Chairman of St. Soldier Group welcomed the Chief Guest, Prof. Manhar Arora M.D presented the vote of thanks and College Director Dr. S.C. Sharma gave the introductory background of the competition hailing the participation form all four regions of the country and representing all categories of law institutions viz National Law Universities, Central Universities. State Universities, Private Universities and the law Colleges affiliated with central/state universities, Prof. Simi Thind and Prof. Balwinderjit Kaur conducted the stage and led the organizational arrangement Directors and Principals of different St. Soldier Colleges, Dr.Veena Dada, Dr. Alka Gupta, Dr.Push Karna, Dr.Gurpreet Singh and Dr. Lohani were present in the inaugural session.
The Chief Guest Sh. Arora in his inaugural address appreciated the effort of the College in organizing a mega event on the important segment of legal education. He laid emphasis on developing a skill of interpreting the facts which can only lead to application of relevant law for arriving at the truth of a dispute and right delivery of justice. For a lawyer, be said, patience, presentation and perseverance are essential. And to scale heights in the profession, participation in such competitions and an urge to excel is very important. He wanted the participants to be not only good advocates or judges but also the change-makers.
Today, after the inauguration 3 rounds of competition were held and another 3 rounds will be held tomorrow. Senior Advocates from Distt. Bars Jalandhar and Kapurthala acted as the Judges. Tomorrow again 3 elimination rounds will be held and the final proceedings will be conducted by Honble Mr.Justice S.D. Anand.